SMS Sewing Machine Meme

the dream machine

the dream machine

 

What brand and model do you have?

Singer 201k

(I have a Huskystar back home, but for the purposes of this meme, I’ll focus on the Singer I have here.)

 

How long have you had it?

About 4 months, since we moved to Australia.

 

How much did it cost?

Not nearly as much as I was ready to pay for a machine like this one!

 

What types of things do you sew?

With this machine, I’ve pieced a quilt, sewn two aprons, hemmed some pants, and sewn some other assorted bits and pieces.  I’ve also used it to sew shut paper bags of homemade microwave popcorn.

 

Do you like/love/hate your machine?

Love, love, LOVE this machine!!

 

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

Beautiful, perfect straight stitches (that’s its job!).  Ken (the machinist at Heights Sewing Centre) added the foot pedal and a lamp, which work wonderfully.  (I’ve never worked with a hand-crank machine, but the foot pedal is an added convenience.)

 

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

The only thing I don’t like about this machine is that I won’t be able to take it back to the U.S. with me, as it won’t work there : (

 

Do you have a good story to share about your machine?

Mmm…I bought this at the local sewing machine/haberdashery.  I talked to the machinist, and explained that I was looking for a basic sewing machine, on a budget, and he said he’d fix something up for me.  I never expected something like this!!  When I went to the shop to pick it up, I was blown away!  I wasn’t very familiar with older models of Singer, but when I looked it up online, I could not believe how lucky I was to be able to use on of these beauties. 

 

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Oh absolutely!  Just look at it!

 

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

As long as it will do what you need it to do (well), then  you should be just dandy. 

 

Do you have a dream machine?

This would be it.  *sigh*  I hope to find another like it back home.

~ by ... on 4 June 2009.

3 Responses to “SMS Sewing Machine Meme”

  1. People have different needs and requirements especially when it comes to sewing machines. If you’re looking for the best sewing machines, you will have to look around. Your choices are not only limited to the local stores but you can also shop online. Keen sewers are always on the lookout for the best deals. There are some things that you should know before you make the purchase. ”

    Have a look at our personal web blog as well
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/peppermint-essential-oil/

  2. Bring your Singer back to the US and replace the external motor with a 60HZ 120V or use a step down transformer.. Check out Yahoo! Group WEFIXIT or the Vintage Singer Group to locate a used motor. An external motor is very easy to replace and should be inexpensive and easy to find…Blessings,hc

  3. […] Singer 66 treadle Singer 66-1 (1909) Singer 99k Singer 132 Featherweight Singer 201 Singer 201-2 Singer 201k Singer 270 Singer 285K Singer 301A Singer 328K Singer Model 401-a (+ related post) Singer 401A […]

Leave a Reply

 
