Ode to Crème Fraîche

Sweet smooth

tanginess

tart

delicious

you perfectly

complement

all my

sweets

oh!

crème fraîche,

How,

how

did I ever live

without

you.

As my experience as an amateur chef grows, I appreciate more and more the tremendous joys and power of a bit of crème fraîche.  It is the perfect balance to just about every sweet dessert imaginable, and acts as a more sophisticated and savvy alternative to sour cream.  I mean really, just say it.  Crème fraîche.  Doesn’t it just instantly make you feel sexier and smarter?

Crème fraîche can sometimes be hard to find and/or a little on the spendy side.  Fortunately for us happy homemakers, you can make it yourself with two simple ingredients and a bit of patience:

1. Pour 1 cup heavy whipping cream and 2 tablespoons buttermilk into a small bowl and stir to combine.

2. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let sit at room temperature until thickened, at least 8 hours or overnight.

3. Stir; keep chilled and use within a week.

(makes ~1 cup)

Viola!

Joy!  Now you have crème fraîche, and the dessert possibilities are endless!

Plus!  If you have an ice cream maker, you’re in for a treat: crème fraîche sorbet.  Oh my good heavens is this good.  Naturally, I took the recipe and went in the other direction, based on what I had on hand.  I used 1 cup of crème fraîche, 1/3 cup of light agave syrup, juice of half a lime, and a pinch of salt.

~ by ... on 29 July 2010.

One Response to “Ode to Crème Fraîche”

  1. I recently had the same revelation in regard to clotted cream. Whole Foods is the only place around here that sells it, and yes, I will pay whatever they are asking for it. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

 
