Epic Brown Butter Bars

1. I am a terrible blogger because I am notoriously bad about stopping to take photos, no matter what it is I’m doing.

2. Sorry ’bout that.

3. Would you believe I used to be really into photography?!  Ha!

Last year, I made these peach shortbread bars.  They were beautiful.  Amazing.  Lovely.

They were inspired by these brown butter peach bars, which are a #*(%$#ton more work.

But with my summer classes over, and more time to spare, I thought I’d give them a try.

[Here would be a great place to include a photo of the massive pile of dishes I collected in the sink in the process of making these bars.  Just imagine a great big stack of mixing bowls and spoons and spatulas.]

Suffice it to say, it was a $#&*^%*$#ton of work.  I mean, seriously.  Look at the recipe.  It starts with making the peach jam, using a candy thermometer, for 45 minutes.  It was epic.

When you spend all $#*(%&*($# afternoon making a 9 x 13 tray of brown butter peach bars, you expect them to be #$&*(&$@# good.  Were they?

They were.

Good enough to make again?

Meh.  I think I’ll stick with Deb’s peach shortbread.  (Did I mention that her peach shortbread is beautiful, lovely, and amazing?  Besides which, I rather prefer the sliced peaches to peach jam anyhow.)

But.  If you are allured by the idea of whiling away your day making a batch of tasty bars, I’d recommend starting with the brown butter step, since you can make the jam while you’re waiting for the butter to freeze.  I’d also suggest reducing the amount of orange zest, since (to me), it seemed to overpower the peaches.

Good luck, and godspeed.

~ by ... on 5 August 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
